http://www.danoah.com/2010/10/memoirs-of-bullied-kid.html
After reading the above blogger's story of his years of being bullied, all I could do was feel sorry for the guy. I know he's changed his outlook on life, that he wasn't bullied his entire life, and he's even said so. And in a very similar but non-extreme sort of way as his, I to was bullied.
Yes. As hardcore and "malias" (spanish slang for bad-ss) as I look right now, I used to be the scrawny kid who was smarter than all the rest. I was the kid who some how ended up being the teacher's pet. I didn't ask to be. I didn't try to be. I just was.
Eventually I managed to take in the bullies and befriended them, at least I tried to. But my kindness was taken advantage of as I used to share my lunch with them. In the end I only wound up with a side snack...
But then I got a girlfriend, and all of a sudden I was cool? All of a sudden I was manly. (This was in my 6th grade year, so yes, years before this (4th and 5th grade.) I was kind of "bullied".) And then one day one of the bullies pushed my girlfriend and I got pissed. We went into the bathroom and slugged it out. I stood up to him. After that, they didn't mess with me anymore.
6 years later and now, I fit the look of a bully, I wear an angry/scary looking face when I'm actually relaxed, or more so, "focused". I've got some intimidating physical and facial features to look more dangerous than any bully. But I ain't no bully. And even at that, I got friends that are afraid of me!
Whether that be out of fear or respect, (I'd like to believe for the latter.) I treat them (my friends) with all the respect that I feel they deserve, (and I respect everybody I meet and know.) I listen to them when they speak. I joke around with them when I can, (or feel like it.) I offer advice to them when requested. I've even defended another friend from another bully, and that bully was just some rich-kid trash. I was totally tougher than him. So I told the guy to knock it off and leave my friend alone... See, I ain't a bully!
If I wanted to, I could be a bully. But not because I'm insecure about myself. and not because I have a crappy life. (That's probably why I ain't a bully in the first place. Thank God.)
But I'd be a different breed of bully, it may seem a little more sociopathic that simply being a bully though. But I could just bully people simply because I can. Because I can handle myself if anyone stands up to me. Because I know how to really mess people up and cause a lot physical harm and damage. Heck, I could totally become the ultimate villain!
But I'd rather not think like that. So here's to the friend-defending friend that I am, or at least try to be.
No comments:
Post a Comment